k (xphilega) wrote in atlanta_parents,

I am an American who is bilingual and who offers babysitting or childcare in a Spanish-immersion environment.

The younger a child is, the easier it is to pick up languages easily. In this globalizing world, knowledge of another language is more important than ever, and there is no better time or way to expose someone to another language than as a child.

I am a 22-year old, college educated, liberal woman who has experience teaching English to Spanish speakers and Spanish to English speakers. I love working with children, and have worked as a babysitter as well as a programming coordinator and counselor at summer camps. My passion is sharing and experiencing other languages and cultures. Currently, I work at a feminist non-profit in Atlanta as a bilingual educator and counselor and providing childcare to young children in Spanish, and also speak proficient French and a bit of Mandarin. I've studied in China, and spent time in Spanish and French speaking countries.

For me, working with children is a joy because of their natural curiosity, their challenges, and their honesty. I believe in a mutual respect between adults and children and in empowering them as much as possible, while having fun.

I am currently available Mondays, Thursdays, Sundays, and evenings. Please email for more information. I would love to speak on the phone or in person about your needs and how I might be able to help meet them.
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic
    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.